Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare


Rating: 5 stars!

Favourite quote:

“Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. It’s easier to know what they would do.”

….

“It’s all right to love someone who doesn’t love you back, as long as they’re worth you loving them. As long as they deserve it.”

….

“You know,” Gabriel said, “there was a time I thought we could be friends, Will.”

“There was a time I thought I was a ferret,” Will said, “but that turned out to be the opium haze. Did you know it had that effect? Because I didn’t.”

….

“Only the very weak-minded refuse to be influenced by literature and poetry.”

….

“A little girl robbed you?” Tessa said.

“Actually, she wasn’t a little girl at all, as it turns out, but a midget in a dress with a penchant for violence, who goes by the name of Six-Fingered Nigel.”

“Easy mistake to make,” Jem said.”

….

Okay, I will stop. There are just so many great quotes in this book that one could use! *sigh*

My thoughts:

The Shadowhunters’ seem to fit in no matter where you chuck them. Victorian London is no different. They belonged there. It made the demons and villains feel more sinister. I love how Cassandra Clare does this. I also love how witty and heroic and complex she writes her characters, they are all so brilliant. (I have seen some people say ‘once you have read one you have read them all’ and ‘the characters are the same in each book but with different names.’ This is not true, maybe they are just reading them in the same tone. Wit is wit at the end of the day. Does that mean people who are sarcastic are all the same? Hell no! It’s the reader who makes the character what they are in their imagination. No one reads the same book!) I have never not liked a shadowhunter book. Sometimes occasionally I dislike a character, but only for a split second. The books however are all perfect in my mind and The Infernal Devices are my favourite! This book and the ones that follow it will always have a special place in my heart, it showed me that love triangles can work. I should state how much I hate them, despise them even. That changed for a moment while I read this trilogy, I loved both Will and Jem. I would have been equally happy who ever Tessa ended up with, my heart would have also broken for the other that wasn’t picked. That my friends is a love triangle well done. I also really liked the fact that it wasn’t demons they were up against, The clockwork army thrilled me. Imagine fighting an endless group of metal, how you would eventually tire and they would still keep coming. This is why Shadowhunters’ are badass and we just read about them. Haha. Let’s talk institutes. I bloody love them. I mean a churchy type building no one can see? A million creepy rooms and total sanctuary from evil. What’s not to love? The one in Clockwork Angel is my favourite, I get such a clear image of what it looks like in my head and it’s always the same each time I read these books. (Which is practically all the time) I get nostalgic just thinking about it. If I could live in any Shadowhunter book series it would be these. This is after all my millionth re-read so I’m probably rambling right now, just read them, if you haven’t already!

Would you prefer to be

A downworlder (werewolf, vampire, faerie, warlock and so one)

Or

A Shadowhunter? (Half angel fighting machine, destined to kill evil.)

Tell me in the comments…

Blurb:

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them.

Click to buy:

Amazon

Waterstones

Whsmith

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

    1. Thank you dear Thunderclaw, I’m glad you like it! Yaaaay, I can’t wait to continue my re-read of these books. I miss them! What one are you on now? Or what will be the book you are on to next? 🙊💙

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment