Final Girls – Riley Sager


Rating: 4 stars!

Favourite quote:

“I’m talking about life. The world. It’s full of misfortune and unfairness and women like us getting hurt by men who should know better. And very few people actually give a shit. Even fewer of us actually get angry and take action.”

My thoughts:

I read this at night, I read a lot of reviews saying they had to read it when it was light, so I went into this thinking I would get all jumpy and have to run up the stairs, nose dive into bed and curl my feet into my blanket. This didn’t happen! I read it just like I would read any other book. Which is to say it could of done with a little more horror/thriller-ness which is why it’s only 4 stars. The book was split between before and building up to and after Quincy’s massacre hell. I was more intrigued by the past than the present, I think it was because of finding out what happened that night, how it all went down, which is a huge mystery through out the ‘present’ chapters due to memory loss and all that jazz! Quincy and Sam sometimes annoyed me, but hey ho Quincy survived a mass killing so it’s okay if she’s a little over-kill occasionally, right? And to be honest I can’t picture Sam any other way, annoying seemed to be her thing. I liked how the story developed and the plot was an interesting idea. I couldn’t ever imagine being the only surviving person of a killing spree, I know we see it all the time in horror films but I don’t think I ever pictured it as something that could happen in feel life. Now I can! Over all I enjoyed it, I felt like it could of done with something more happening, maybe. I wasn’t really shocked by the ending, I just felt a deep sadness for one of the characters. I wish I could go into detail about it but I can’t really say much without spoiling it. If you read it, I would like to know if you felt the same as me though!

If you were in a mass killing would you

go out kicking and screaming?

be a Final Girl?

or

be the first killed?

Let me know in the comments!

Blurb:

FIRST THERE WERE THREE

The media calls them the Final Girls – Quincy, Sam, Lisa – the infamous group that no one wants to be part of. The sole survivors of three separate killing sprees, they are linked by their shared trauma.

THEN THERE WERE TWO

But when Lisa dies in mysterious circumstances and Sam shows up unannounced on her doorstep, Quincy must admit that she doesn’t really know anything about the other Final Girls. Should she trust them? Or…

CAN THERE ONLY EVER BE ONE

All Quincy knows is one thing: she is next.

Click to buy:

Amazon – £5.00

Waterstones – £12.99

Whsmith – £9.09

Leave a comment